Continuing Education

Continuing Education Requirements

In addition to the payment of the license renewal fee, each licensee shall furnish to the Executive Officer evidence of completing 24 hours of continuing education EACH year - June 1st -May 31st, a total of 48 hours. Failure to obtain the correct number of C.E. each year will result in fines.  To view C.E.s that have been submitted to the OE Tracker since the last renewal, click here.  Continuing education programs must be approved by the board in the year just preceding such application for license renewal.  Additional guidelines are:

  1. C.E. subjects must fall within the generally accepted optometric body of knowledge and must be pertinent to the clinical practice of primary care optometry and/or optometric sub-specialties. The Board recognizes the course category definitions as defined by the Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE). Educational content of courses should be minimally at the level of courses taught at optometric colleges, and instructors should have education and credentials that would qualify them for at least adjunct instructor status at a college of optometry.
  2. A maximum of four of the twenty-four hours required for re-licensure may be practice management courses. Five hours must be in ocular pharmacology, therapeutics or related topics of study approved by the State Board of Examiners in Optometry.
  3. A maximum of eight of the required twenty-four hours may be obtained from courses with a format other than live (e.g. web-based, magazine, correspondence, tape, CD, VCR). Alternative media courses with COPE approval offered by accredited institutions will be granted full C.E. credit. The Kansas Board of Examiners in Optometry reviews and accepts most COPE courses. CPR courses are not accepted.
  4. No more than four of the 24 annually required hours of documented and approved continuing education may be obtained through observing ophthalmic surgery.
  5. The Board prefers that an ophthalmic association, school, institute, or other organization sponsor the continuing education event. 
  6. A comprehensive program package outlining the following must be submitted for non-COPE approved courses:

    Course Outline - 1.5 -2 pages per hour of presentation 
    Instructors
    Date(s), Time(s)
    Location
    Course Description
    Curriculum vita and/or biographical sketches of instructors
    How sponsor will track and report attendance at the course

    The Board has the right to deny credit at license renewal time for any course work that is not COPE approved or submitted to the Board for approval prior to execution of the course.

  7. Educational meetings will be closely monitored to assure strict adherence to the approved course outline for content and duration. Any deviation from content or duration, such as substitution for self promotion, referral requests, product endorsements, or anything else the board judges as deviating from the approved program may result in future rejection of the provider. Courses endorsing a particular product are not accepted. An hour of class credit must have at least 50 minutes of presentation to be counted as one hour.
  8. The Kansas Board of Examiners in Optometry utilizes the ARBO OETracker system. It is strongly recommended that sponsors of continuing education apply for COPE approval and participate in this program, too. More information about this program may be obtained from ARBO.
  9. License renewal is now on-line instead of submitting paper copies of renewal applications. Therefore, continuing education providers who do not apply for COPE approval should request an electronic form from ARBO for sending a list of the ODs who attended the event to ARBO.  This is in lieu of the paper certificate that has been required in the past. 

Questions on course approvals should be directed to the Executive Officer of the Board.

Surgery Observation Form  MS Word Document
Surgery Observation Form Fillable PDF
See directions below for opening/saving the PDF



Instructions for Opening/Saving Fillable PDFs

Save the form to your computer before attempting to complete it

We suggest that you first download the PDF form to your computer or network drive, and then open it with Adobe Reader and fill it. You can either type information directly into each field, or copy and paste text. The font is preselected and cannot be changed. You can only type regular text (upper and lower cases); the system will not accept underlined text, bold or italics, script or formulas, curved or slanted apostrophes, double quotation marks or long dashes.

You can save your data and re-open the file later to modify or enter additional information.

To save the form: 

Fillable PDF forms may be completed and saved using Adobe Acrobat Reader (this software must be loaded on your computer). To accomplish this you must first save the empty form on your own computer:

  1. Position your cursor on the form link and click with your right mouse button (do not activate the link and open the form)
  2. From the menu that pops up, select the Save target as... option in Internet Explorer or the Save link as... or similar option in another browser
  3. You should then be prompted to choose a location to save the file
  4. Select the location on your own computer or network and click on the Save button
  5. Once saved, navigate to the file